Chevron Left
Back to Renewable Energy and Green Building Entrepreneurship

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Renewable Energy and Green Building Entrepreneurship by Duke University

4.7
stars
2,356 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to the course where you learn to launch a new business in the energy, finance, real estate, design, engineering, or environmental sectors, while also helping you create positive environmental and human health impacts around the world. We will integrate tools, trends, and tips from the field of entrepreneurship as a career path for making a difference and generating wealth in the renewable energy and green building sectors. This is not a course about theory. Instead, we focus on real world application, step-by-step advice, and case studies. After completing this course, students will be able to: - Define key business opportunities, challenges, and potential solutions in the renewable energy and green building sectors. - Analyze a successful business in renewable energy or green building. - Identify 2 to 3 problems you might solve with either renewable energy or green building products or services. - Plan for engaging with investors who might finance a new business. - Take real world first steps towards launching a new business or corporate initiative, by applying the 1-page business idea summary template and the Business Model Canvas to generating and refining your own new business ideas....

Top reviews

GZ

Dec 5, 2020

Pretty high level and focus mostly on entrepreneurship rather than renewable energy as a topic, but a good place to start if you want to be an entrepreneur in this space and don't know where to start!

VD

Sep 23, 2021

I would really recommend this course for budding Civil Engineers as it will create more awareness about Green Building and Renewable energy. We got to see more sustainable structures in the future

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 563 Reviews for Renewable Energy and Green Building Entrepreneurship

By Philip H

Jul 29, 2020

Is this a course on sustainable energy or simple self-promotion? I don't need someone to tell that I can be an 'intrapreneur-' I came in wanting to know how to sell renewable energy and the technology behind it.

By Salman A

Aug 5, 2020

This particular course really affected in terms of successful entrepreneurs in the field of energy or any other field other than energy and green buildings. It established me a little insight of startups, companies, and of a corporate initiative. I must say that a particular course would definitely give an upper hand to someone who is looking to be a man in the field of energy transitioning. tools like business canvas and how to pitch the business opportunity were useful for me.

By Nicolette H

Apr 11, 2022

This course was great! I wished that some of the references shared were more up to date (many were from 2016-2017) and with the Green Building Sector changing so fast, some of the data is likely out of date at this point. Even with that being said, this course offered a great overview of green building entreprenuership with useful tools for anyone starting their own company and the instructor was very engaging, positive, and enthusiastic which made the course fun to attend.

By Gabriel M

Oct 9, 2017

Very informative and interesting course. I learned a lot about Renewable Energy and Green Building Entrepreneurship. In addition, I really enjoyed the honor's track cause it made me go a little further and learn much more. The last week is useful to anyone is dreaming of launching a new startup cause the professor presents a lot of tips to launch your startup. To wrap it up, I strongly recommend this course to anyone interested in green entrepreneurship.

By Gustavo G P

Jun 14, 2018

A quick course that provides a great overview of the renewable and green building industries while introducing you to the main topics related to beginning a startup in the field. Please understand that this is not meant to be and in depth course and thus does not provide technical details in the fields of energy and green building. For its purpose the course content is excellent and the lectures well organized with amazing content by professor Chris.

By Emily O

Jan 10, 2019

I loved stumbling across this course! I am in the process of connecting with project managers and a LEED certified NASA employee who are excited to be build a living house right where I live here in Tulsa, OK. I've been exposed to so many industries that are thinking about building with sustainable resources. I am blown away by it all. Thanks Chris Wedding, Coursera, and Duke University for creating this course.

By Jean-Claude P

Jan 29, 2020

A very practical approach to entrepreneurship in the fields of Renewable Energy and Green Building. A course with a lot of information, delivered at a rapid pace, by a professional in the field. Chris' motivation and stubbornness are very catchy. I couldn't do the more practical part due to lack of time, but it seems absolutely essential to me. Many thanks to Chris & the whole team for their service

By chadimtk@hotmail.com

Mar 30, 2021

I took this course by chance, but later obe I recognized that what I learnt from it can be considered a treasure, especially for for start-up business , entrepreneurs. It is very enriched material. I totally recommend it for all levels.

Thank you Mr. Wedding, We appreciate your material and we will try to follow your directions and point of view.

By Brijesh

Sep 27, 2021

I did not expect an online course to ignite the spark of entrepreneurship in me but this course successfully did that. Not to mention, the teaching method used by Prof. Chris Wedding is top notch and one of the best methods I have come across throughout my academic years. I am so happy I took this course. I feel more confident and energized.

By Bryan H W

Apr 20, 2020

Dr. Chris Wedding is very optimistic and provides a good overview on entrepreneurship within the green business scope. The course was very eye opening on some topics and provides very concrete data. Some of the reading materials need to be updated however, as the websites providing them might have taken them down.

By Yashraj J

Jul 26, 2020

i am really satisfied with course , faculty (mr.wedding) explain entrepreneurship in easy way he also provide great tools for entrepreneurship. but before enroll in course read description of course. this course not include details about green building materials and how to build green building.

have a fun.

By Anand J

Jun 24, 2020

I learned a lot regarding the renewable energy and green building entrepreneurship from the course. Professor wedding provided with some great learning experience, through his expert teaching skills. I would highly recommend this course to someone who would like to enhance his knowledge in this field.

By Soumyadip K

Sep 28, 2020

THIS IS VERY HELPFULL COURSE OFFERING BY DUKE UNIVERSITY.I GET TO KNOW A LOT ABOUT GREEN BYUILDING AND RENEWABLE ENEWRGY AND FUTURE BUSINESS.THE COURSE WAS VERY EASY TO UNDERSTAND ,I HOPE IT'S A VERY GOOD EXPERIENCE AND IT WILL HELP ME TO PERSUE MY FURTHER COURSE AND INCREASE MY KNOWLEDGE.

By Fernando P S R

Aug 10, 2020

I completely enjoyed the course. I feel that every idea and theme was explained clear and correct. The main focus this course has is something that everyone should know. It shows from how the renewable energy is produced to how to make your ideas to takeoff. I am glad I took this course.

By arafo h

Jul 20, 2022

Amazing course! It is pretty complete, the course deal with the technical aspect of Renewable energy and Entrepenership. I woul recomment to not skip the readings since they provide more details to dive in the technical aspect. Maybe some reports uploaded as readings can be updated.

By Emmanuel R A

Oct 12, 2020

This is course is changing my life in ways I've never thought before. It's funny how Professor Chris might be one of the best teachers I've ever had and never even met him. I hope everyone who's considering in taking a career into the renewables and green building takes this course.

By CORY P

Jun 15, 2020

This course delivery is excellent. I took this to aid an Energy Sustainability Engineering and Technology program and the content ties in beautifully! I absolutely recommend if you're in a similar program already or are considering it and want to explore the entrepreneurial side.

By Mayank S

Jan 16, 2020

This course is really helpful to understand the basics of renewable energy and green building & showed their market potential globally. In the term of Entrepreneurship this course helps to learn new aspect of business modelling, how to fund, way to create effective team etc.

By Edward M

Oct 8, 2017

It was a course plenty of motivational and valuable resources for continuing the ultimate objective which is to lunch a new bussiness. I'm pretty happy of having taken this course. I stongly recommended to take it to those who are curious about how to start up a new company.

By Mu'ath K

May 21, 2020

The class was such a mind-opening session, teaches you thoughtful study of the generation of ideas in whatever business you need. The tutor just made me living broad dreams of evolving business here and there. The reading materials were precisely chosen and very thoughtful.

By VEDANT M

Apr 25, 2019

The course in amazing, Mr.Christopher Wedding has taught the course in depth and has made me understand in greater details the pros and cons of being an entrepreneur in the green building and renewable energy sector.I just wish this course was longer because it was amazing.

By Henry W

Mar 21, 2020

Thank you this was an incredible introduction into the world of Renewable Energy and Green Building. It has helped me better understand that this is the industry that I would like to break into. I truly appreciated the emphasis on using business as a source for change.

By Víctor A G G

Nov 26, 2021

Great starting point to those who, just like me, want to make a positive impact in our community and our world. Also, it provides great tools and literature to find your way through entrepreneurship. Together, we can make the world a better place! Onward and upward!

By Poliane m a

Sep 21, 2020

Estudos com o meio ambiente e suas pesquisas avançadas, vem aproximando sensivelmente a prevenção climáticas contra os desastres da natureza abrindo leques de estudos como este curso orientando e concientizando da importante alternativa de construçãoes.