Chevron Left
Back to Tropical Parasitology: Protozoans, Worms, Vectors and Human Diseases

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tropical Parasitology: Protozoans, Worms, Vectors and Human Diseases by Duke University

4.7
stars
521 ratings
157 reviews

About the Course

This course provides students an understanding of important human parasitic diseases, including their life cycles, vectors of transmission, distribution and epidemiology, pathophysiology and clinical manifestations, treatment, and prevention and control. Tropical Parasitology is taught by faculty from an area highly impacted by tropical parasites- the Kilimanjaro Christian Medical University College in Moshi, Tanzania. The faculty include Drs. Frank Mosha and Mramba Nyindo (and two lecturers, Drs. Johnson Matowo and Jovin Kitau). Dr. John Bartlett, Professor of Medicine, Global Health and Nursing at Duke University, joins his faculty colleagues in this effort....

Top reviews

JB

Dec 9, 2019

I really enjoyed doing this course, I was a bit worried about the final exams but I had so much fun doing them. Really happy that I registered for it and I would advise anyone to take part.

BY

Feb 2, 2017

best course than ever straight forward presentations,reports,clinical cases than have improved my knowledge about tropical infections especially ectoparasites & helminthes(worms)

Filter by:

151 - 161 of 161 Reviews for Tropical Parasitology: Protozoans, Worms, Vectors and Human Diseases

By Jennifer M

Jul 13, 2022

Good information. I enjoyed learning more about tropical parasites. Some of the questions on the quizzes and exams did not correlate with lectures.

By Sven K

Nov 9, 2020

Very good and informative MOOC. Especially the first parts were very extensive and useful. The last weeks were a bit less informative.

By Amnah A M A

Jul 2, 2022

Good hands on and field visits videos

targeted MCQs

Slides has the proper amount of text, more illustration and photos can help more

By SANA U

May 16, 2020

A good course covering all the main aspects and a good instructor as well.

By Matthew K

Apr 27, 2020

Cool fun course! tough but important

By Karina B D C

Oct 28, 2021

The course needs updating.

By Hardi S

Nov 14, 2020

Nice

By Christian W

Jan 5, 2022

The course content is good and informative, unfortunately the lecturers are only reading the script while being filmed, it's not very engaging. On top of that are a couple of blurpers where they actually skip the word "not" in the video, so for people listening but not reading along on the slides, they'd actually understand the opposite of what is ultimately true. After week 2 I skipped the videos altogether and simply studied from the downloadable script, which works better and faster. I was able to complete the course within 4 weeks (as opposed to the scheduled 8) that way.

By Beth H

Feb 21, 2022

Less about the parasites and more about case studies in human and treatment, found a few errors in the quiz answers

By Justyna

May 6, 2020

I enjoyed doing this course. Is fine.

By sumanth

Feb 14, 2019

Certificate not opening...