Chevron Left
Back to Tropical Parasitology: Protozoans, Worms, Vectors and Human Diseases

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tropical Parasitology: Protozoans, Worms, Vectors and Human Diseases by Duke University

4.7
stars
521 ratings

About the Course

This course provides students an understanding of important human parasitic diseases, including their life cycles, vectors of transmission, distribution and epidemiology, pathophysiology and clinical manifestations, treatment, and prevention and control. Tropical Parasitology is taught by faculty from an area highly impacted by tropical parasites- the Kilimanjaro Christian Medical University College in Moshi, Tanzania. The faculty include Drs. Frank Mosha and Mramba Nyindo (and two lecturers, Drs. Johnson Matowo and Jovin Kitau). Dr. John Bartlett, Professor of Medicine, Global Health and Nursing at Duke University, joins his faculty colleagues in this effort....

Top reviews

JB

Dec 9, 2019

I really enjoyed doing this course, I was a bit worried about the final exams but I had so much fun doing them. Really happy that I registered for it and I would advise anyone to take part.

BY

Feb 2, 2017

best course than ever straight forward presentations,reports,clinical cases than have improved my knowledge about tropical infections especially ectoparasites & helminthes(worms)

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 162 Reviews for Tropical Parasitology: Protozoans, Worms, Vectors and Human Diseases

By cristina c

Jun 9, 2021

muy bueno el curso

By HUSSEIN Y

May 14, 2018

very interesting

By Daniela K L C

Aug 13, 2019

very good, full

By Amany K

May 4, 2020

Thanks a lot

By isihaka m

Feb 23, 2018

Very Helpful

By Marcio S L

Jan 26, 2022

Very good!

By Kleber L d S

Mar 27, 2020

Excelente.

By Yadel C U

Jan 5, 2019

Thank you!

By Alfredo J A G

May 23, 2017

b REIOlnig

By Ujjal M

Nov 11, 2021

very good

By Joseph A N

Aug 1, 2020

Superbe !

By francisco c f

Mar 2, 2018

thanks...

By Ivette R

Jul 19, 2022

Loved it

By Caroline A

May 21, 2022

g​reat

By ATMAKURI S

Sep 22, 2021

good

By Jo-Ann J

Apr 21, 2021

Very interesting course. Most of the course materials were interesting and appropriate, and the lectures comprehensible, in spite of the fact that I felt I did not have sufficient background to fully appreciate the material. I learned a great deal, and am happy that I enrolled in the course. Only drawback was the lack of prerequisites for my ability to understand all the material. Thank you for sharing this course information. All folks should be exposed to the parasites that affect us and our animal cohabitants.

By Philip S J

May 14, 2020

The only drawback was that the lecturers just read the text of the slides. In my experience the slides give the salient points that the lecturer wants to impress on the audience but a good lecturer gives more during the lecture. At least that is what I was taught to do whenever I and others in my profession lectured. Why even lecture; just tell the student to read the slides. Otherwise I learned a lot more than I thought I knew about the subject.

By Maryl H

Jul 6, 2020

What a fun class! It's very information-dense, so depending what your goals are for this class, you'll need to study quite a bit for the final exams to remember the dozens of pathogens, life cycles, epidemiological factors, and clinical manifestations. I really enjoyed the variety of experts in different subfields of infectious disease research that shared their perspectives on each type of parasitic infection!

By Alexander R A

Mar 9, 2020

I think the material is relatable in tropical countries. for the lectures, beside the parasite, i think i can use more information about the disease related. also in some of the presentations, the image of the parasite itself is not presented. i think it can be showed for better understanding

By Andrés F C G

Jul 18, 2020

Excellent course, it really includes the most important parasites, emphasizing in the most prevalent parasites in Africa but most of them are also important un the new world. I admit that it was a little bit challenging understanding Dr. Mosha but they were all excellent teachers.

By Atanu C

Nov 10, 2020

The course is well conceived and presented. It was enhanced by having field visits. If I may suggest , few more pictures may be used and few common laboratory investigation may be shown to make it more interesting. Overall I am satisfied with the course.

By Francisco C V

Dec 31, 2021

Excelente curso. Material muy claro. con muchas referencias y las exposiciones de buena duración. Algunos subtitulos en español deben ser revisados para evitar confusiones así como algunos cuestionarios que tiene pregutnas con respuestas incorrectas.

By Miguel C

Mar 9, 2020

It was a good course, shows the enviroment of some parasites and vectors, it has good resources to read. I would like that the course asks us deep information about pathophisiology and treatment of tropical diseases, and make more assignments

By Carl S

May 20, 2022

Enjoyed the course but being a non-medical person I would have found it useful if after the first use of a medical term it was explained in simpler terms. The only instructor that did that on a regular basis was Dr. William Howlett.

By Christopher C

Sep 8, 2021

Overall I found the course informative. My last college courses were over 20 years ago. My lack of any medical knowledge did make it a little challenging at times.