Chevron Left
Back to IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts by Google

4.8
stars
16,308 ratings

About the Course

This course covers a wide variety of IT security concepts, tools, and best practices. It introduces threats and attacks and the many ways they can show up. We’ll give you some background of encryption algorithms and how they’re used to safeguard data. Then, we’ll dive into the three As of information security: authentication, authorization, and accounting. We’ll also cover network security solutions, ranging from firewalls to Wifi encryption options. The course is rounded out by putting all these elements together into a multi-layered, in-depth security architecture, followed by recommendations on how to integrate a culture of security into your organization or team. At the end of this course, you’ll understand: ● how various encryption algorithms and techniques work as well as their benefits and limitations. ● various authentication systems and types. ● the difference between authentication and authorization. ● how to evaluate potential risks and recommend ways to reduce risk. ● best practices for securing a network. ● how to help others to grasp security concepts and protect themselves....

Top reviews

PK

Apr 9, 2022

Great course for beginners and experts. Easy to understand and a good refresher for those who have been into IT for a long date. Recommend it to everyone looking for a high quality course on coursera.

DS

Apr 25, 2018

Great course that is full of useful information and presented in an easy to understand way. It's an awesome beginner course that will add to your knowledge and further your knowledge of IT security.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 2,754 Reviews for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

By Mª N L C

Aug 10, 2020

It is being tough to accomplish this course for someone like me with a very basic knowledge of computer science. Nevertheless, thanks to the great work done by coordinators and teachers, I have been able to easily follow all their instructions and do my tasks. I have gained a deeper understanding of what is behind the scenes of an internet connection and how important it is to keep safe from attackers.

By Eugen M N

Jun 13, 2022

I am overwhelm with the content of this course. I never expected to cover much in a short time. The course is loaded with so much rich material about security until i fel i am ready to take seat for the CompTIA A+ certification. I wish to thank Merit America and Cousera for a great JOB. I am certainly coming back to specialise on cybersecurity. I appreciate the course instructors for their savvy.

By Ricardo J V

Aug 21, 2020

Would highly recommend this course!Had an awesome time with my instructor as he kept me very engaged using food and movie references to help keep my notes not just entertaining but straight to the point. For those planning to take this class, have no fear, you will find this course to be super easy to comprehend and understand. I hope to one day use my skills and improve security with technology

By Chrisin J

May 30, 2020

Absolute beauty even in the final course! Google has done an outstanding job in putting out this course for everyone! Its easily accessible and convenient The important part is this course is perfect for beginners whatever their age is! The videos, explanations, and instructors are perfect and they explain every single line! Grateful for joining this course and please continue this great work!

By Ahmed I

Jul 21, 2020

Wohoooo! Just complete the IT Security course! The learning journey was amazing. I have learned so many interesting things about IT Security as like Security Threats, Cryptography, IT Security Infrastructure, Network Security, Defense in Depth and so on. In this course I most interesting thing I have learn Cryptography. I will recommend this course for any IT Support Specialist.

By Nigel V

Jun 10, 2021

I felt very intimidated at first learning these security concepts, but what I find rewarding is the fact that I have just become familiar with them now. Don't let anything intimidate you in learning from this course as you will get the hang of it later on when you find an IT job. It has deepened my knowledge in IT and I feel it definitely will prepare me for the CompTIA A+ exam.

By Muhammad A S B A

Nov 15, 2020

the most tough course over all 5 course for me. security policies lies on our everyday scenario which we might take it for granted, with this, I see that through every type of password or different policy implementation is design to make our life more secure in computational environment. all people need to realize on how important security policy is. thank you

By Christina J B

Oct 31, 2020

This course covers a wide variety of IT security concepts, tools, and best practices. It introduces threats and attacks and the many ways they can show up. Then, I had dive into the three As of information security: Authentication, authorization, and accounting. I also cover network security solutions, ranging from firewalls to WIFI encryption options.

By Abraham M

Oct 1, 2021

The Google IT Support Specialization course is one big and straight question: Do you wish to work in the IT Support industry?. The answer to the questions, regardless of it, is going through this course. The users will have a clear answer and will be wiser in such way they can make a better decision on their next carrier step. Very well done Google.

By Wisdom O

Dec 21, 2021

First of all, coolest title ever. Now to the content of the course, it was everything I hoped for. If there was anything I wanted to know that wasn't discussed, there was a link included, to access the information. And just like i said about the other courses in the program, this was wholesome and I thank Coursera and Google for making it possible.

By Siddhant K

Sep 12, 2020

A Very Important Aspect of IT which is Security and defense is covered brilliantly by google and it's instructor. Got to many things, adding to my knowledge. This Course Completes the Google IT Support Professional Certificate Program which was a very knowledgeable and helpful course to enroll too. Thank you google.Thank you all the Instructor's

By Kugo

Dec 31, 2021

W​ow, so many things I've gained and learned from these courses. I have learned so much, and experienced a whole new level of knowledge that I thought at first would be a little out of my league. These courses have made it truly accessible and easy to learn this information and retain it! I feel like I'm ready to take on the IT world now! :D

By Paul W

Aug 12, 2020

I greatly enjoyed this course. I was a great intro in to the Security sector of IT and gave me a great foundation to move into my new career. The pacing and the information and well as the presenter were all fantastic. I especially enjoy the hands on labs, which gave me some much needed experience with the command line command use.

By Cecil K

Jan 4, 2021

The course is very good at giving a good summary of the security roles a System Admin may encounter. It helps to point the student in the right direction for more detailed instructions in each area. I enjoyed the course. It contained the correct amount of material. I am confident in continue my search on how to secure networks.

By Adegoke M O

Nov 3, 2020

I've never completed a course like this before (remote instruction) and I cannot express how great the instructor was and the overall content of the material. I would definitely recommend this to my co-workers as well as friends. I will be looking into taking more of these classes through COURSERA in the near future.

Thank you!"

By Harald M

Apr 12, 2021

I knew IT security is a complex matter. Nevertheless, it came as a surprise to me how comprehensive this course was. Malware, Cryptography, Firewalls, Policies etc. I would like to thank our instructor for his well-taught course. I have learned a lot. I am afraid, however, I can't keep all details in my long-term-memory.

By Susie O

Sep 24, 2020

This was an informative, interesting, and one of the more important modules. Some of the videos had a lot of details which could potentially lose the attention of the viewer, but Gian led us through it in a clear and concise manner. When he would interject his humor, it came across as natural and genuine, and not forced.

By Mauricio R R

Jan 14, 2020

It is vital to know how to protect our IT infrastructures from the digital dark arts. This course gives a valuable and overall introduction to preparing us to understand the many ways our systems and networks are exposed and how we can mitigate and prevent those risks using sound protocols, technologies, and behaviors.

By Outa J

Mar 15, 2021

IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts is a very good course since it equips one with the practical challenges that one may encounter in their IT support specialist role. I particularly have gained a lot from this course. I am very grateful to Google in conjunction with Coursera for offering this course.

By Dionmy A C D

Apr 14, 2019

Gracias a este curso, he conseguido nuevas herramientas y abilidades que antes no tenía y he afianzado las que ya tenia. Me ha hecho más conciente sobre la prevención en Internet, pero, a la vez, muy desconfiada, especialmente sobre descargar apps de otra organización. (Sólo descargo apps que pertenezcan a Google).

By larisaidis

Aug 3, 2018

A Big thanks to all instructors for what I've learned all those months and will continue this learning journey, because that is what makes successful as a whole. As the Greek philosopher Solon said: "Γηράσκω δ' αεί πολλά διδασκόμενος", which in a way means, even though I'm getting older, I am always learning a lot

By Nishant K G

May 7, 2020

When I started this course I just had a basic knowledge about Computers, but after completing this course I feel like I know about IT Security now, obviously, there's a lot to learn about Computers, its a very vast field, but this course helped me build my foundations on IT Security.

Thanks, Coursera and Google!

:)

By Noel W J

Dec 14, 2019

The course has given me an in-site on how to understand security threats, Cryptology, AAA Security, Securing your Network, Defense in Depth, and Creating a company culture for your company. The information is just simply invaluable and i will use this to advance my career in the IT Professional world. Thank you.

By Cecelia R M

Jun 28, 2019

It was an excellent course! I definitely learned a lot from it. My perspective regarding security has changed a great deal from it. Even if you don't take this course for the certification, I would definitely recommend it for learning how to protect yourself and your devices on the internet and from attackers.

By Alejandro M

Jan 4, 2021

Everything has been interesting, what I have struggled with the most has been with the translations and the amount of acronyms, my next steps are to expose it to my employment counselor and together plan my spasos to follow, I think it will be to continue training, I would like to learn the Web development