Chevron Left
Back to Financial Risk Management with R

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Risk Management with R by Duke University

4.4
stars
216 ratings

About the Course

This course teaches you how to calculate the return of a portfolio of securities as well as quantify the market risk of that portfolio, an important skill for financial market analysts in banks, hedge funds, insurance companies, and other financial services and investment firms. Using the R programming language with Microsoft Open R and RStudio, you will use the two main tools for calculating the market risk of stock portfolios: Value-at-Risk (VaR) and Expected Shortfall (ES). You will need a beginner-level understanding of R programming to complete the assignments of this course....

Top reviews

RR

Mar 20, 2021

Challenging, but worthwhile -- would recommend approaching over weeks, and not rushing through.

Do not need a strong background in Statistics, but would definitely help understand the terminology.

AD

May 16, 2020

The concepts are beautifully explained. This course requires basic understanding of Risk management and R coding. Thank you for such a good learning experience. Best of Luck

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 81 Reviews for Financial Risk Management with R

By Avik D

May 17, 2020

The concepts are beautifully explained. This course requires basic understanding of Risk management and R coding. Thank you for such a good learning experience. Best of Luck

By Siow C M

Sep 5, 2021

I​ learnt a lot of concepts and how to implement those concept in R. Highly recommended if you are into technical risk management for financial portfolio.

By Aleksander S

Jul 11, 2021

Good explaination, the visualization/script of the JP Morgan VAR and Log Returns may be provided to us students - it is nice to have !

By Stéphane C

May 22, 2020

The course is very interesting, albeit not exactly related to Entrepreneurial Finance. Some knowledge of R is recommended.

By SET S M

May 31, 2020

I loved this course, I think it was very friendly and of course with an excellent level.

I highly recommend this course

By Aron B

Jun 26, 2020

One of the best courses available on coursera! I really recommend it to every person keen on finance and investments!

By Bruno T A H

Aug 12, 2020

Impressive and interesting for an approach of applied finances, widely recommended but not for beginners!

By Mukhtarbek A

Nov 8, 2020

Awesome introduction course for Risk Management who have some expertise in statistics and finance

By Lucas F F

Jun 28, 2020

Me encanto. Muy bien explicado el profesor y los ejemplos en la ultima semana estaban muy buenos.

By Aditya S

Feb 9, 2021

You will enjoy it. It is definitely one of the amazing course of all which I took from Coursera.

By Jesús A J M C

Jul 19, 2020

It is an excellent option to learn and review the basic concepts to analyze financial data.

By Bhanu P G

Nov 8, 2020

I have a partial idea of risk management and R too in same course thats valuble

By Laura N B B

Jul 18, 2020

Very good course, it would be great to see a next level course from this topic

By Mr. C X Q H

Jan 30, 2021

I learnt both R and Financial Risk Management in this interesting course.

By ALBERTO J P L

Jul 9, 2020

Very usefull course to be introducted in financial risk. I recomend it.

By Neerja G

Nov 27, 2020

Practical knowledge of the use of R in quantitative Risk management.

By Василий П

Apr 12, 2020

Grate course. Exactly that I need for my job. Thank you professor!

By Dominic L

Apr 3, 2021

Great course, with the right level of detail and topics

By Serge B

Nov 24, 2020

Excellent course - Exactly what I expected!!

By Héctor A H A

Aug 21, 2020

Interesting and well explained. Very usefull.

By Vaibhav K

Jul 26, 2021

Very practical and straight to the point.

By Jairo H G N

Oct 20, 2020

Pretty good materials and explanations

By Stepan R

Aug 15, 2020

Clear, concise, minimalist and calming

By Salih T

Jul 11, 2020

Excellent course, too long quizzes.

By Stardust N

Jan 6, 2021

Nice to learn new things with R.