Chevron Left
Back to Decentralized Finance (DeFi) Infrastructure

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Decentralized Finance (DeFi) Infrastructure by Duke University

4.8
stars
885 ratings

About the Course

Decentralized Finance: The Future of Finance is a set of four courses taught by Campbell R. Harvey (Professor of Finance at the Fuqua School of Business, Duke University, and a Research Associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research) that focus on decentralized finance (DeFi). In this first course, we begin by exploring the origins of DeFi and take a broad historical view from the earliest barter economies, such as the first peer-to-peer exchanges of bartering, to present day. The course also looks at historical examples of money having value even though it is not officially backed. We then focus on the key infrastructure components: blockchain, cryptocurrency, smart contracts, oracles, stablecoins and decentralized applications (or dApps). This includes discussion of the mechanics of the Ethereum and Bitcoin blockchains including cryptographic hashing. Next, we focus on the specific problems that DeFi is designed to solve: inefficiency (costly, slow, and insecure today), limited access (1.7 billion are unbanked), opacity (we need to trust regulators to monitor banks and the regulators have mixed records), centralized control (financial system is oligopolistic imposing higher fees than we would have in a competitive market) and lack of interoperability (it is difficult to move funds from one financial institution to another today). The course closes by exploring many of the myths about the crypto space....

Top reviews

TN

Apr 12, 2022

Great introduction into DeFi, the professor walks us through key definitions, a bit of history, potential applications and common misunderstandings about this space. Good launching pad to dive deeper

VF

Jan 5, 2022

Everybody who wants to quickly get around all these new and exciting decentrilized technologies is advised to take the series of courses. Info provided is deep enough, easy to grasp, and concise.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 203 Reviews for Decentralized Finance (DeFi) Infrastructure

By Erfan T

Jul 12, 2022

I think in some parts it needs more explanations but totally a wonderful course.

By Eduardo P

Nov 22, 2021

Explains basic concepts of Decentralized Finance and Block chains technologies

By Chin k y

Jun 16, 2022

G​ive me a shape what is defi amd how does this change our current environment

By Jim D

Mar 29, 2022

G​ood introductory start, but a little slow, but maybe that is good more many.

By Victor K

Apr 9, 2022

The Professor explains concerpts in a way that makes it easy to understand.

By michael s

Jul 30, 2022

V​ery good but seemed less balanced in its look at the Crypto. DeFi world

By Nicholas R K

Jun 3, 2022

I​t is for beginners and offered not much new information

By TJ - T N

Mar 23, 2022

Good refresher on how CeFi will be challenged with DeFi

By Kartikaye M

May 9, 2022

Short, consciece overview. Puts things in perspective.

By Lawton H

Mar 7, 2022

This was a very informative and interesting course.

By Danny F

Nov 19, 2021

Looking forward to a more in-depth DeFi discussion

By David W

Jul 19, 2022

Well constructed and relatively easy to follow

By Marc J L

Dec 14, 2021

Love it and the lecturer is really good too.

By soumya c

Apr 17, 2022

G​ood overview and well researched content.

By Pema W

Dec 26, 2021

Very much simple and easy to understand

By Sameer M

Feb 9, 2022

very insightful and very informative.

By Nirupam

Jan 23, 2022

Good

By LIJIA W

Apr 30, 2022

I didn't realize this is 4 course class! Therefore for a while i thought the professor didn't go into any details of a lot concept. i honestly didn't feel like I learnd anything i didn't already know. He focused a lot on the very obvious kinda of theory and touched superficially on the concepts of a lot technology. However i found it much better when I watch in 2x speed.

By Abhinav S

Apr 9, 2022

The concepts are mostly read from the slides and haven't been explained well. You tube has better explained content available free of cost

By Sudarsan M

Apr 1, 2022

THe course could have had more examples from say insurance to explain the concept better

By Francois T

Jul 20, 2022

Good course. - 2 star for the uwarranted bashing of BTC

By Olga F

May 23, 2022

too many definitions at once without going into details

By Rahil L

Mar 25, 2022

Very good to gain bascis of how the block chain works.

By Daniel A M

Apr 28, 2022

G​ood but basic introduction to DEFI

By Joseph P

Mar 7, 2022

its k