Chevron Left
Back to Decentralized Finance (DeFi) Infrastructure

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Decentralized Finance (DeFi) Infrastructure by Duke University

4.8
stars
885 ratings

About the Course

Decentralized Finance: The Future of Finance is a set of four courses taught by Campbell R. Harvey (Professor of Finance at the Fuqua School of Business, Duke University, and a Research Associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research) that focus on decentralized finance (DeFi). In this first course, we begin by exploring the origins of DeFi and take a broad historical view from the earliest barter economies, such as the first peer-to-peer exchanges of bartering, to present day. The course also looks at historical examples of money having value even though it is not officially backed. We then focus on the key infrastructure components: blockchain, cryptocurrency, smart contracts, oracles, stablecoins and decentralized applications (or dApps). This includes discussion of the mechanics of the Ethereum and Bitcoin blockchains including cryptographic hashing. Next, we focus on the specific problems that DeFi is designed to solve: inefficiency (costly, slow, and insecure today), limited access (1.7 billion are unbanked), opacity (we need to trust regulators to monitor banks and the regulators have mixed records), centralized control (financial system is oligopolistic imposing higher fees than we would have in a competitive market) and lack of interoperability (it is difficult to move funds from one financial institution to another today). The course closes by exploring many of the myths about the crypto space....

Top reviews

TN

Apr 12, 2022

Great introduction into DeFi, the professor walks us through key definitions, a bit of history, potential applications and common misunderstandings about this space. Good launching pad to dive deeper

VF

Jan 5, 2022

Everybody who wants to quickly get around all these new and exciting decentrilized technologies is advised to take the series of courses. Info provided is deep enough, easy to grasp, and concise.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 203 Reviews for Decentralized Finance (DeFi) Infrastructure

By Paper S

Feb 24, 2022

G​reat and informative course that helped me learn alot of terminology related to DeFi that even after a year of trying to study crypto on my own I did not understand, and after Infrastructure I realize how much there is I dont know still

By Adeyinka O

Feb 8, 2022

T​he content is deep and course material quite exhaustive. The calmness, clarity, and emphasis in the presentation, and coupled with scenarios was quite inclusive and I bet you're good without reference to the course materials.

By Murray S

Dec 19, 2021

Fantastic course. Professor Cam Harvey DeFi series on Coursera is essential learning for anyone wishing to know more about DeFi. Great range of topics and very useful examples. Best learning I have seen in this space.

By Calixto J S G

Nov 24, 2021

Fue un tema muy interesante del que todos debemos de aprender para poder estar bien informador e ir al día sobre lo que pasa en el mundo de las finanzas y que grandes cambios podemos preever con el presente que tenemos

By Mr K D K

Dec 20, 2021

Cam is fantastic communicator, he is a master of explaining conceptual elements, but he has a breadth of technical and financial acumen that means he will go deeper into topics and apply them to the real world.

By Antonio A R

Mar 30, 2022

Excelent introduction to decentralized finance. Dificult concepts for non computing experts, like blockchain, & criptoassets are well understood. The summary is excelent about the content of this course.

By Luis C

Jan 31, 2022

Es muy reconfortante saber que hay instituciones que les interesa compartir el conocimiento y entrenar a individuos para enfrentar a este nuevo paradigma financiero tan cambiante. Gracias.

By Filza F S

Jul 15, 2022

An excellent and much recommended course for beginners! Helped me understand the basics of blockchain technology and its operations. Definely enrolling for more courses from Mr. Campbell.

By Cyrill W

Jan 15, 2022

Brilliant intro of Prof Campbell Harvey. Coming from traditional finance degree in Econometrics and Finance, he bridges in a excellent way the centralized with the decentralized finance.

By Bhaskar G

Jan 27, 2022

Loved the way Professor Harvey explains the newly minted ideas in DeFi space. Excellent course.

Indeed, the future is DeFi. Let the wealth (?) spread across the globe, evenly!

By Justin P

Jul 29, 2022

G​reat introduction for a novice or someone that already has crypto knowlegable. A bit intermeidate with finance concepts, I recommend having some introductory knowledge.

By Daniel V

Feb 3, 2022

Excelente curso, abordando una introducción clara y completa sobre el tema que permite continuar con un aprendizaje mas profundo. Gracias profesor Harvey

By Renee

May 16, 2022

​instructor is excellant. I had a basic knowledge but now I can structure my thoughts and how I communicate Blockchain. I am so exciteed to learn more!

By Ricardo H

Mar 17, 2022

I am very please with this course. The professor is amazing! The concepts are revolutionary. I am very glad, I am able to take this course.

By Praveen U

Apr 2, 2022

Good course. Kind of a refresher for people like who who know blockchain. However, the concepts are well articulated and the pace is good.

By hacobo b

Jan 30, 2022

THIS IS A GREAT COURSE, VERY WELL EXPLAINED, THE TEACHER DOES REALLY WELL DOING ANALOGES WHILE GOING TROUGH CONCEPTS, I RECOMMEND IT 100%

By Adriana C

Feb 13, 2022

Excelente curso, puedes comprender las bases de la criptomonoeda y la diferencia entre Bircoin y o¿los smartcontracts, además del DeFi.

By Michael O

Jan 15, 2022

Very interesting, straightforward and instructive course. Only wish there would be a little more about protocols besides PoW and PoS.

By Ash T

Apr 4, 2022

The world is changing rapidly and a course like this should be taught by every college/university. Very relevant and informative!

By Caroline G

Mar 22, 2022

Very good introduction. It eases you progressively to get a grasp with the terms and how the system works for the next chapters.

By Tibor T

Apr 25, 2022

Very good course. Covering so many new concepts that I haven't been avare of at such details and with such interconnectivity.

By Copy W

Jan 30, 2022

It's a very useful course. I think everyone will learn a lot in this course, thank you so much for the opportunity

By Nicola P

Mar 5, 2022

Good pacing, wonderful content and easy to understand! Although a little too basic but overall a great foundation

By Daniel B

Feb 17, 2022

Excelente Material. In clusive teniendo la barrera del idioma pude entender el lenguaje tecnico del instructor