Chevron Left
Back to Data Visualization and Dashboards with Excel and Cognos

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Visualization and Dashboards with Excel and Cognos by IBM Skills Network

4.7
stars
1,772 ratings

About the Course

This course covers some of the first steps in the development of data visualizations using spreadsheets and dashboards. Begin the process of telling a story with your data by creating the many types of charts that are available in spreadsheets like Excel. Explore the different tools of a spreadsheet, such as the important pivot function and the ability to create dashboards and learn how each one has its own unique property to transform your data. Continue to gain valuable experience by becoming familiar with the popular analytics tool - IBM Cognos Analytics - to create interactive dashboards. By completing this course, you will have a basic understanding of using spreadsheets as a data visualization tool. You will gain the ability to effectively create data visualizations, such as charts or graphs, and will begin to see how they play a key role in communicating your data analysis findings. All of this can be accomplished by learning the basics of data analysis with Excel and IBM Cognos Analytics, without having to write any code. By the end of this course you will be able to describe common dashboarding tools used by a data analyst, design and create a dashboard in a cloud platform, and begin to elevate your confidence level in creating intermediate level data visualizations. Throughout this course you will encounter numerous hands-on labs and a final project. With each lab, gain hands-on experience with creating basic and advanced charts, then continue through the course and begin creating dashboards with spreadsheets and IBM Cognos Analytics. You will then end this course by creating a set of data visualizations with IBM Cognos Analytics and creating an interactive dashboard that can be shared with peers, professional communities or prospective employers. This course does not require any prior data analysis, or computer science experience. All you need to get started is basic computer literacy, high school level math, access to a modern web browser such as Chrome or Firefox, the ability to create a Microsoft account to access Excel for the Web, and a basic understanding of Excel spreadsheets....

Top reviews

HT

Jun 5, 2022

It is very constructive and very important course for the future of data analyst career. providing practical handin experience makes it the perfect self starter and motivational course.

Thank you

AO

Apr 9, 2021

As an aspiring data analyst, this course gave me more information about what I am currently doing and after finishing this course I have learned a lot and gave me more interest to learn more.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 298 Reviews for Data Visualization and Dashboards with Excel and Cognos

By Jimmy B

Jul 21, 2021

So far this has been my favorite course. Getting to play with Cognos and visualizing data is why I'm really doing this!

By Tariq A G

Jun 8, 2022

Course Contents were to the point and well explained. i love the way coursera build these courses, easy to understand.

By Francesco O

Jan 28, 2022

Very useful and interesting course, which induce me to continue further with the other modules of the specialization.

By shokoofeh h

Sep 17, 2021

This course is very simple and also very useful. It covers all the basics for data visualization in Cognos and Excel

By Florian K

May 14, 2022

Amazin! There is even a free trial for Cognos Analytics! Highly valuable for everyone that enjoys visualizing data!

By Chiragkumar N

Jun 3, 2022

C​ognos wan't taught in detail. Lacked many concepts such as editing axis, storytelling, changing values etc etc.

By Mark M

Jul 4, 2021

I like the hands on practical examples of the dash board program.

It was my first exposure to Cognos. I like it.

By Nwaulu B N

Nov 6, 2021

I am glad I made decision to acquire Data Analysis skill, and this particular course is lovely in this journey.

By MITCHELLE M

Oct 14, 2021

It is a very interesting course. I have learned a lot and it is indeed a very useful tool for reporting KPIs.

By PRATIK D A

Jul 6, 2021

Hands on examples are great and peer to peer learning is a good method to grade. Over all- excellent course

By Daniel P

Nov 12, 2021

Interesante curso para desarrollar ideas acerca de presentar información de manera clara y comprensible

By Patrick G

Oct 18, 2021

A​wesome intro to the topic. Bridges smoothly with the first two courses in this certifiacte program.

By NAKAANA J

Mar 21, 2022

This course is detailed and very helpful for someone who is looking for a furture in data analytics.

By Peter A

Jun 27, 2021

This course was really enjoyable and I am amazed by how powerful and intuitive IBM Cognos is to use.

By Divine J C

Jul 9, 2022

This course teaches you how to create interactive visualizations using Excel and Cognos Analytics.

By Ruben T

Nov 17, 2021

Awesome course to help those who want to use data visualization in tools like Excel and IBM Cognos

By Mayowa O

Aug 12, 2022

This course is a very great step towards kickstarting a journey of learning data visualization.

By Emma-jane C

Nov 5, 2021

The course, is an apprioiate level for beginingers and the instructions are clear and consice.

By Gabriel R Q

Jul 3, 2022

this course provide a good brief introduction about how to create wonderfull dashboard easily

By Alejandro Á T

Jun 8, 2022

Really interesting course where you can learn about different types of excel and ibm charts.

By Kavita R

May 23, 2022

Data visulization from IBM give me so much knowledge. It will very helpful in upcoming job.

By Meena R

Jun 21, 2022

A wonderful course for beginners like me. I really enjoyed the materials. Thank you! :)

By Ron F

Jun 8, 2022

This was a gentle overview of Data visualization and dashboards with Excel and Cognos.

By Anna R

Aug 4, 2022

I learned a lot and prepared to ask questions concerning department KPIs.

Thank you.