Chevron Left
Back to Data Visualization and Dashboards with Excel and Cognos

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Visualization and Dashboards with Excel and Cognos by IBM Skills Network

4.7
stars
1,772 ratings

About the Course

This course covers some of the first steps in the development of data visualizations using spreadsheets and dashboards. Begin the process of telling a story with your data by creating the many types of charts that are available in spreadsheets like Excel. Explore the different tools of a spreadsheet, such as the important pivot function and the ability to create dashboards and learn how each one has its own unique property to transform your data. Continue to gain valuable experience by becoming familiar with the popular analytics tool - IBM Cognos Analytics - to create interactive dashboards. By completing this course, you will have a basic understanding of using spreadsheets as a data visualization tool. You will gain the ability to effectively create data visualizations, such as charts or graphs, and will begin to see how they play a key role in communicating your data analysis findings. All of this can be accomplished by learning the basics of data analysis with Excel and IBM Cognos Analytics, without having to write any code. By the end of this course you will be able to describe common dashboarding tools used by a data analyst, design and create a dashboard in a cloud platform, and begin to elevate your confidence level in creating intermediate level data visualizations. Throughout this course you will encounter numerous hands-on labs and a final project. With each lab, gain hands-on experience with creating basic and advanced charts, then continue through the course and begin creating dashboards with spreadsheets and IBM Cognos Analytics. You will then end this course by creating a set of data visualizations with IBM Cognos Analytics and creating an interactive dashboard that can be shared with peers, professional communities or prospective employers. This course does not require any prior data analysis, or computer science experience. All you need to get started is basic computer literacy, high school level math, access to a modern web browser such as Chrome or Firefox, the ability to create a Microsoft account to access Excel for the Web, and a basic understanding of Excel spreadsheets....

Top reviews

HT

Jun 5, 2022

It is very constructive and very important course for the future of data analyst career. providing practical handin experience makes it the perfect self starter and motivational course.

Thank you

AO

Apr 9, 2021

As an aspiring data analyst, this course gave me more information about what I am currently doing and after finishing this course I have learned a lot and gave me more interest to learn more.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 298 Reviews for Data Visualization and Dashboards with Excel and Cognos

By Arbee O

Apr 10, 2021

As an aspiring data analyst, this course gave me more information about what I am currently doing and after finishing this course I have learned a lot and gave me more interest to learn more.

By Behnam F

Jan 21, 2022

Familiarity with the powerful Cognus program was very good. If you continue this course, good things will surely happen to you. This was the third course I took and it was really great

By Gerald Q

Jun 24, 2022

The material so far is definitely to the point, which is great! I've been looking forward to moving into more advanced dashboard techniques after going over what they are.

By George F

Sep 13, 2021

i was impressed by cognos and in general the way you get into things with this course. i really like the approach methodology. final assignment was very interesting also.

By A D C

Mar 7, 2022

one word for this session is "Spectacular". Describe by detail, step by step, dedicate overview about the industry condition. really helfull to elevate your skill

By Emmanuel C A

Feb 3, 2022

The course was great. The tutors did excellent job and the course materials were self explanatory. I am indeed happy to be a party to the process.

Thanks guys.

By Claudio F S

Jul 26, 2021

E​xcellent!

I​ had never worked with a cloud Business Analytics tool. It was a great experience and thanks for the opportunity offered by Coursera and IBM.

By Vijayakumar M

May 25, 2021

Great start to have a chance to see the world of visualization with step-by-step process and guidance to create our own dashboard. Thanks for the course.

By bagadoji s

Aug 14, 2022

I love the course very much and I will recommend this to my friends. It was not easy to navigate the Cogno analytics interface but I did. Thank you, IBM.

By Adnan X

Sep 17, 2021

Very well structured and well define in terms of course design. Learn a lot of new skilled and gain a great deal of knowledge regarding data analysis.

By Mohit

Jun 30, 2021

Amazing course for visualization and dashboard with Excel and cognos .. Well explained and everything in a systemtic way...I loved this course .

By Sampson A I

Aug 2, 2021

A very interesting and well planned and taught course on modern and easy to navigate techniques (Cognos) for Data Analysis and Visualization.

By Ajay N

Oct 17, 2021

One of the best course so far. This was my first experience with IBM Cognos Analytics. Very intuitive and interesting analytics platform.

By Mohammed F

Jan 17, 2022

In this course I learned to use different tools for visualizations. I never expected cognos was also easy to use tool for visualization.

By Adib B

Aug 16, 2021

Thanks Coursera for providing this condition for all Enthusiasts

Special thanks to IBM for providing this course in the best possible way

By lapologang k

Jun 7, 2022

its a great course and i learnt a lot. i didnt know how to create dashboards to present data but i learnt all that through this course

By Prem K

Jul 30, 2022

wonderfull course, i really learn new more things about data and visualization and also ibm cognos.

thank you so much IBM and Coursera

By Emelda H

Jul 19, 2022

A very interesting and hands on Course. I enjoyed the 2 modules covered so far and there is sufficient detail for one to understand.

By Manoj M

Mar 29, 2021

Very useful course to learn the different data visualization charts using Excel and also to create dashboards using IBM Cognos tool.

By Fikri

Sep 19, 2021

Great course, but more exercises and hands-on are appreciated. Course tutors explain them very thoroughly and easy to understand.

By Anup M

Aug 20, 2021

It was the nice course with real time assignments which makes this course so interactive. I am fully satisfied with the content.

By Mxolisi N

Nov 7, 2021

From knowing nothing about Cognos Analytics, this course empowered me greatly in a short space of time. I highly recommend it.

By Melinda E

May 22, 2022

This class was particularly helpful as I have begun a new job that requires strong use of Excel tables AND myriad dashboards.

By Todd C

Oct 21, 2021

Excellent stuff. Couple of differences between the material and latest version of the applications, but not really an issue.

By tendai m

May 16, 2021

Excellent course. It helped clarify about Pivot Tables and Charts which is super useful. IBM Cognos seems quite handy too!