Chevron Left
Back to Data Visualization and Dashboards with Excel and Cognos

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Visualization and Dashboards with Excel and Cognos by IBM Skills Network

4.7
stars
1,772 ratings

About the Course

This course covers some of the first steps in the development of data visualizations using spreadsheets and dashboards. Begin the process of telling a story with your data by creating the many types of charts that are available in spreadsheets like Excel. Explore the different tools of a spreadsheet, such as the important pivot function and the ability to create dashboards and learn how each one has its own unique property to transform your data. Continue to gain valuable experience by becoming familiar with the popular analytics tool - IBM Cognos Analytics - to create interactive dashboards. By completing this course, you will have a basic understanding of using spreadsheets as a data visualization tool. You will gain the ability to effectively create data visualizations, such as charts or graphs, and will begin to see how they play a key role in communicating your data analysis findings. All of this can be accomplished by learning the basics of data analysis with Excel and IBM Cognos Analytics, without having to write any code. By the end of this course you will be able to describe common dashboarding tools used by a data analyst, design and create a dashboard in a cloud platform, and begin to elevate your confidence level in creating intermediate level data visualizations. Throughout this course you will encounter numerous hands-on labs and a final project. With each lab, gain hands-on experience with creating basic and advanced charts, then continue through the course and begin creating dashboards with spreadsheets and IBM Cognos Analytics. You will then end this course by creating a set of data visualizations with IBM Cognos Analytics and creating an interactive dashboard that can be shared with peers, professional communities or prospective employers. This course does not require any prior data analysis, or computer science experience. All you need to get started is basic computer literacy, high school level math, access to a modern web browser such as Chrome or Firefox, the ability to create a Microsoft account to access Excel for the Web, and a basic understanding of Excel spreadsheets....

Top reviews

HT

Jun 5, 2022

It is very constructive and very important course for the future of data analyst career. providing practical handin experience makes it the perfect self starter and motivational course.

Thank you

AO

Apr 9, 2021

As an aspiring data analyst, this course gave me more information about what I am currently doing and after finishing this course I have learned a lot and gave me more interest to learn more.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 298 Reviews for Data Visualization and Dashboards with Excel and Cognos

By Fernando M

Jun 16, 2022

Excelente

By Ibrahim E A

Mar 28, 2022

very good

By Okeneye D

Jan 26, 2022

EXCELLENT

By Daniel S

Nov 2, 2021

Excellent

By Syed R H

Oct 11, 2021

Excellent

By abdallah a

Oct 3, 2021

very good

By DEBORAH A

Aug 4, 2022

NICE ONE

By A C

May 8, 2022

Great

By OLUBUNMI A

Mar 16, 2022

GREAT

By Navid R E

Sep 4, 2021

great

By Ibrahim A f

May 24, 2022

good

By David S R C

Jan 24, 2022

Good

By vinod k N

Dec 24, 2021

Good

By Pradeep T

Aug 7, 2021

good

By Leonard N

Jul 28, 2022

ok

By Christian P N

May 7, 2021

ok

By Kenny Y

Jul 15, 2021

This course is great for beginners who would like to enhance their reporting skills. Although it is basic, it goes to show how as simple as learning the different graphs and software such as Cognos are very important in producing high quality reports/dashboards. Especially when such simplicity is forgotten in reporting and often in the industry practice Senior Management are always making requests which ends up with information overload that confuses the audience. In the end, most Senior Management only looks at the key piece information and this is what this course emphasize on. I only provided 4-stars as I would have expected more advanced techniques as I know already most of the materials the course offers (besides Cognos)

By dionne w

Dec 7, 2021

Good course, learned a lot and things were explained nicely. Downsides are that the audio volume changes between videos (sometimes quiet; sometimes loud) and the last assignment should have two upload options and only has one and this appears to have been an issue since well over a year ago. Thankfully knew a solution that was accepted. Overall, I'm happy with the course.

By Natasha F

Mar 13, 2022

This has been the best course so far in the series. The man's voice is better than the female one, sounds more like a real person instead of a computer generated voice. Video lessons were shorter and to the point and more labs to immediately practice what was covered in the videos.

By Lim J

Oct 2, 2021

The course and assignments were great but for the Visualization platform I think teaching Power BI or Tableau would be much more useful as these two are more commonly used. However I do understand that IBM wants to promote their own platform, so It's fine.

By Maki R

Feb 20, 2021

I wish there is more information about the clear instruction using Mac compared to PC. Many function and steps are different if you use Mac. It takes time to figure things out without proper instruction. Otherwise, it's great.

By okoye c

Aug 11, 2022

Having taking the tutorial class, i can say it enriched me with alot of information about Data Analytics. Tools for visualization such as Excel and Cognos, gives important clearity about data.

By Anh T

Aug 14, 2021

This course was not easy, I have never used IBM Cognos before. I was nervous logging into it and making sure I am doing it right. I end up using 2 monitors to see what I am doing.

By Lizeth G F

Feb 19, 2022

There were some issues using the file in IBM Cognos after this was uploaded. Some people submitted in discussion forum for help, but any could help with the real problem.

By Samuel B

Mar 3, 2022

Key elements of software used were explained well. IBM cognos software has been updated since this was written however and there have been some minor relevant changes.